Email Phishing Scam –

 

If you receive an email from someone planning on visiting the U.S. for a 1 month period, don’t fall for it. A similar email went around for two years, with someone saying he was a Bishop from Africa, visiting the U.S. with a deaf wife and two children.

 

The current email is from someone calling himself Ian Clark, from the United Kingdom. Just ignore it – it is another phishing scam.

 

Why would someone describe their client as a “high net worth client”?

 

Copy of the email sent to Cindy Allen, VP of PARID:

 

Hello, my name is Ian Clark from London,UK.
 
I run the  Deaf services Team  here with registered address in castle Avenue, Winchester, SO23 8UG.

One of my high net worth clients is due to arrive in the United States in few weeks time & he is interested in your translation services. He will be there for about a month.

If interested, please reply.
 
Thanks
 
Ian Clark
+44 207 060 0362

 

In the Header portion of the email, it shows it is really being sent from the email address –

Date: Mon, 12 Mar 2007 12:51:44 -0700 (PDT)
From: "Ian Clark." <liamprovider@yahoo.com>
Reply-To: nwaibuzor@yahoo.co.uk
Subject:  translation services
To: ian.w@yahoo.co.uk

 

For more info on this type of scam see the forum:

 

www.translatorscafe.com/cafe/MegaBBS/thread-view.asp?threadid=8613&start=1